About us

Notable alumni 

More than 250,000 students have graduated from the University of Liverpool, since it was established in 1892, below are a few familar names who were amongst them.

Charles Barkla
BSc (Hons) Mathematics 1898, MSc 1901, Hon LLD 1931
Awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1917 for discovering the electromagnetic properties of X-rays.

Charles Barkla


Dame Rose Heilbron DBE QC

LLB (Hons) 1935, LLM 1937, HonLLB  1975
Barrister and the first female judge to sit at the Old Bailey

Dame Rose Heilbron


Rodney Porter
BSc (Hons) Biochemistry 1938, Hon DSci 1973
Awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology & Medicine in 1972 for his discovery of the structure of antibodies. 

Rodney Porter


Professor Sir Frank Kermode FBA
BA (Hons) English Language & Literature 1940, MA English Language & Literature 1947, Hon LittD 1981

Literary critic‌

Sir Frank Kermode


Professor Har Gobind Khorana
PhD 1948, Hon DSci 1971
Awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology & Medicine in 1968 for his work on the interpretation of the genetic code and its function in protein synthesis. 

Har Gobind Khorana


Professor Sid Watkins MD, FRCS
BSc (Hons) Physiology 1949, MBChB 1952, MD 1956, Hon DSc 2004
World-renowned neurosurgeon who served for 26 years as the FIA Formula One Safety and Medical Delegate

Sid Watkins


Professor Sir Joseph Rotblat CBE KCMG
PhD 1950, Hon DSci 1989
Awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1995 for his efforts with nuclear disarmament. 

Joseph Rotblat


Dame Patricia Routledge DBE
BA (Hons) English Language & Literature 1951, Hon LittD 1999
Actress best known for her role as Hyacinth Bucket in Keeping Up Appearances

Patricia Routledge


Dr John Shirley-Quirk CBE
BSc (Hons) Chemistry 1952, Diploma in Education 1953, Hon DMus 1976
Acclaimed opera singer (below, left)

John Shirley-Quirk CBE


Dr Bob Thomas
(BSc 1959, pictured below, far right)
Awarded the Nobel Peace Prize as part of the team from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) along with former US Vice-President Al Gore for their work on climate change and global warming.

Dr Bob Thomas


Dame Stella Rimington DCB
Diploma in Archive Studies 1959, Hon LLD 2005

The first female Director-General of MI5

Dame Stella Rimington


Dr Tung Chee Hwa
BEng (Hons) Marine Engineering 1960, Hon LLD 1997

First Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China

CH Tung


Dr Tung Chee Chen
BEng (Hons) Mechanical Engineering 1964, Hon LLD 2009
Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of shipping company Orient Overseas (International) Limited (OOIL).

CC Tung


Professor Sir Ian Kershaw FBA
BA (Hons) History 1964


Sir Ian Kershaw


Dr Frank Duckworth MBE
BSc (Hons) Physics 1961, PhD 1965

Statistician, developed the Duckworth–Lewis method in cricket (pictured below, left, with Anthony Lewis)

Frank Duckworth


Dr Ong Teng Cheong GCMG
MCD 1967, Hon LLD 1998

Fifth President of Singapore

Ong Teng Cheong


Brian Hall
BSc 1968

Former Liverpool FC football player

Brian Hall


Sir Robin Saxby HonFIET, FREng
BEng Electronics 1968,  Hon DEng 2000

Technology entrepreneur and former chairman of ARM Holdings

Sir Robin Saxby


Chris Graham
BA (Hons) History 1973

Former UK Information Commissioner and current Vice-President of the University of Liverpool's Council

Chris Graham


Stephen Bayley
MA 1975

British design critic, cultural critic, journalist and author

Stephen Bayley


Steve Coppell
BA (Hons) Economics & Economic History 1976

Footballer and manager

Steve Coppell


Dr Frances Crook OBE
BA (Hons) Medieval & Modern History 1976, Hon LLD 2016

Chief Executive of the Howard League for Penal Reform

Frances Crook


Professor Dame Carol Ann Duffy DBE
BA (Hons) Philosophy 1977, Hon LittD 2007

Poet Laureate

Carol Ann Duffy


Professor Phil Redmond CBE, FRSA
BA (Hons) Social Studies 1977,  Hon LittD 2010

Television producer

Phil Redmond


Winifred Robinson
BA (Hons) English Language & Literature 1979

Presenter of the You and Yours programme on BBC Radio 4

Winifred Robinson


Chris Lowe
BA (Hons) Architecture 1981

Member of the Pet Shop Boys

Chris Lowe


Prof. Datin Paduka Dr. Aini Ideris
MSc Veterinary Science 1981
Vice-Chancellor of Universiti Putra Malaysia and prolific researcher in the field of veterinary science

Prof Datin Paduka


Barry Horne
BSc (Hons) Chemistry with Materials Science 1983

Journalist and Former Welsh footballer and Chairman of the Professional Footballers Association

Barry Horne


The Honorable Wendy Beetlestone
BA (Hons) Philosophy 1984

US Federal Judge, pictured below with President Obama

Wendy Beetlestone


Dr Sanjay Jha
BEng (Hons) Electronic Engineering 1984

CEO of semiconductor foundry, GlobalFoundries Inc, and former Chairman and CEO Motorola Mobility

 Sanjay Jha


Victoria Derbyshire
BA (Hons) EnglishLanguage & Literature 1989 

TV and radio presenter, pictured below

Victoria Derbyshire


Dr Matt Taylor
MPhys 1997

Project scientist for the European Space Agency's Rosetta mission

Dr Matt Taylor


Anna Maxwell Martin
BA (Hons) History 1998

BAFTA-winning actress

Anna Maxwell Martin


Stuart Bennett
BSc (Hons) Marine Biology 2002

Former WWE wrestler who performs under the name Wade Barrett

Stuart Bennett


Tulip Mazumdar
BA (Hons) Sociology 2002

BBC global health reporter

Tulip Mazumdar


Andy Brown
BSc (Hons) Internet Computing 2008
Lead singer of pop rock band, Lawson

Andy Brown


Nobel Prize winners

Nobel Prize medalThe University is associated with 10 academics, teachers and researcers who have won a Nobel Prize, click here to see the list.