Meet the Committee

Find out more about your committee members below.

Robin HargreavesChairman

Robin Hargreaves BVSc 1985

Robin played for the Vet Rugby team and then the University Rugby team (which he captained in 1982/1983). He then went on to play for Liverpool & the team won the Lancashire cup and also played against teams Saracens & Wasps.


Harvey LockeTreasurer

Harvey Locke BVSc 1969

Harvey worked in full time clinical practice in Cheshire until he retired in 2010. He is also a Past President of both the BSAVA and the BVA. He says that his “final year at Leahurst was so enjoyable with regular tennis, rounders and croquet matches against the staff that we almost decided to collectively fail the final exams so we could repeat the year again!”. Harvey is also the 4th consecutive generation of vets in his family. He is proud to be followed by both his niece (2005) and his daughter (2009) who carried on the strong family connection with Liverpool Vet School.


Dr Nicola BeesleyCommunications Officer

Dr Nicola Beesley BVSc MSc 2009 PhD 2016

Nicola came to Liverpool when she was 18 and never really left! After a brief spell in practice after graduating, she returned to the University to complete a PhD. She is currently working at the University in Veterinary Parasitology, her favourite place while studying at Liverpool was The Raz and she also played for the Ladies Football Team!


John TandyEvents Officer

John Tandy BVSc 1957

John thoroughly enjoyed his time as an undergraduate. He played rugby for the University and St Helens. He was captain of the Faculty team. After three years in mixed practice in the Cotswolds and Herriot country, he opened his own practice in his home town of St Helens. It grew rapidly in size to become Rutland House Veterinary Hospital. He took on many additional roles in the profession, industry and animal welfare. He became the President of the BVA, President of SPVS and Founder President of BVHA.


Committee Members without portfolio


John InnesJohn Innes BVSc 1991 

John was LUVS president in 1989/90 and played for the Vets football team from 1986 – 1990 and enjoyed playing against them in staff-student matches when he returned to Liverpool as Professor of Small Animal Studies from 2001 – 2013. John now sits on the Executive Committee of CVS but still lives in Wirral and plays football with some Leahurst staff every Monday evening. Twitter: @johnfinnes


Geoff SkerrittGeoff Skerritt BVSc 1971

Geoff enjoyed a busy student life. He was Vice-President of the Guild of Undergraduates in his third year and Leahurst President in his Final year. He was a keen athlete winning the Inter-University Christie Cup for the 100 yards. He became a Lake District Warden and a mountaineering instructor. After graduation Geoff climbed in the Alps and North and South America. He gained Specialist status in Veterinary Neurology and was elected President of the European College of Veterinary Neurology. Geoff served 12years on Royal College Council, chairing several RCVS committees and recently served a term as President of the British Veterinary Hospital Association. Geoff was a member of Faculty for 20 years and then left the University to become Principal of Chestergates Veterinary Hospital.


Sally StocktonSally Stockton BVSc 1985 CertAVP PGCertVBM

Sally qualified in 1985, in a year group of 15 women out of 50. She enjoyed the eighties Liverpool night life before the quieter final year at Leahurst, but was lucky enough to have a room upstairs in Leahurst House. She married within the year group and fits small animal practice in around family life. She is also an Assessor for the new RCVS Practice Standards Scheme.


Catherine Payne-JohnsonCatherine Payne-Johnson BVSc 1977

Catherine was one of only eight girls in her year of 40. During Animal Husbandry lectures at Leahurst they were served homemade scones with their tea and coffee every morning! Perhaps this is a tradition that should be reinstated.


Head of School: Professor Susan Dawson
Secretary: Sylvia Yang
Academic Representative: Alan Radford
President of LUVS: Rob Noble
Vice-President of LUVS: Harriet Lucas
Alumni Relations Representative: Caroline Mitchell

Back to: Alumni